Actors, partners, beneficiaries

Producing evaluations
in common

Report 2019-2020

Gender

The first on-the-ground effects of mainstreaming
gender into AFD projects brought to light
by the evaluations

Interviews

Elisabeth Hofmann

Chair of the Reference Group on Gender Evaluation

«Engaging in this discussion on gender is highly useful in view of further advancing its institutionalisation, much beyond the precise formulation of the recommendations.»

 
 

How can evaluation reduce gender inequality?

In societies across the globe, gender relations are unequal and disadvantage women. The countries in which AFD operates are not immune to this reality. Women do not always benefit from donor-funded projects and, sometimes, these projects may even unintentionally deepen these inequalities!

Can this trend be turned around?

Yes! By integrating gender right from the project design phase and throughout project implementation.

 
 

Mainstreaming gender
in evaluations

a journey full of learning

Given the gender inequalities undergirding relations between men and women in AFD’s intervention countries, women often benefit less than men from the opportunities offered by development projects. In 2014, AFD committed to systematically querying gender issues in the projects it funds, in its Strategic Intervention Framework for “Gender and the Reduction of gender inequalities” (Gender CIF).

The Gender CIF specifically called for all funded projects to be scored using the OECD’s gender equality markers (DAC 0, 1 and 2), and for AFD-funded projects to be evaluated on the gender dimension, like any other development objective, for the purpose of accountability, learning and knowledge production.

AFD’s Evaluation and Learning Division produced a granular analysis of 118 AFD project evaluations completed between 2015 and 2019. The aim was to find out the extent to which gender was incorporated into evaluations and understand what the drivers were, as well as to identify inspiring practices and blockages. On top of these objectives, the main concern was to grasp the potential positive and negative effects of integrating gender when setting up and/or implementing a project.

A remarkable advance in evaluating the gender dimension of projects

The study revealed that proportion of gender-responsive evaluations along with those interested in how projects affected women beneficiaries had increased from 14% to 50% between 2015 and 2019.

An increasing number of projects classified as DAC 1 (gender equality objective mainstreamed) are being evaluated. But more importantly, many evaluations take gender or gender inequality reduction into account, even though this was not one of the projects initial objectives (DAC 0). This helped to identify different good practices or, contrariwise, some design errors.

The degree of precision in the commissioning of an evaluation, as well as the gender-responsiveness of the team in charge of the evaluation, are two factors that determine the extent to which gender is taken into account in the evaluation.

The efforts to mainstream gender issues into evaluations are beginning to bear fruit, but still need to be reinforced

The evaluations do in fact delve more deeply into the impact projects have on beneficiary women or girls, but barely drill down into the societal aspect of gender relations. The dynamics of power relations between men and women are still hardly touched on, even though we have seen a qualitative improvement on this point in evaluations since 2019.

The study also brought to light the fact that evaluation of a project’s gender component is often hobbled by the absence of available data disaggregated by gender. When these resources do not exist, the evaluations then have to mobilise more technical and financial resources to compensate for this lack (quantitative and qualitative surveys, focus groups, etc.).

Focus Vietnam:
Evaluation, a space for dialogue
to drive mainstreaming gender in projects

In Vietnam, the evaluation of a project to support vocational training shows how integrating a gender approach at the time of evaluation helps to open up a space for dialogue between AFD and its partner on the gender question, in view of continuing support for this sector. The project had been launched in 2009 and aimed to respond to the country’s needs for qualified persons through the restructuring of several vocational training centres. However, it had not included a gender approach given that this had not yet been deployed at AFD.

The proactive approach adopted by the end-of-programme evaluation pointed up the low number of female students in the five training centres. The evaluators thus made recommendations to integrate more young women.

This finding was shared with the partner and triggered a dialogue on the need to include a greater number of women in streams that had been all-male at project start-up. The aim was to propose improvements to reinforce the impacts over time. At the Vinh Phuc training centre, for example, the number of female students in the supported streams rose from 142 at project completion in 2019 to 325 two years later. Over 10 years, the proportion of women increased from 1% to 34%.

This dialogue also revealed that many women were involved in the project and benefited from it at various levels (teachers, managers, executives in the training centres and partner companies). For example, one of the five centres supported is headed by a women who had been able to upskill during the course of the project and who is now promoting opening up the training to more young women.

The evaluation enabled both AFD and its Vietnamese partners to develop their respective gender strategies. AFD now conducts a systematic dialogue on gender with its partners in all its vocational training projects, including via promoting an higher number of women in what are traditionally male training streams.

View the evaluation

Watch the video

 
 

Focus on Lebanon:
Promote the employability of women refugees

The mid-term evaluation of the project “Training and employability of vulnerable populations affected by the Syrian crisis in Lebanon” is an example of good practice in improving women’s living conditions. The project targets access to employment for young people and women, mainly refugees, through short training courses leading to a qualification and long courses with a technical Baccalaureate level, offering outlets on the local labour market.

A study of the labour market was conducted within the framework of the project to identify employment-friendly sectors for young refugees, both women and men. It concluded that the IT sector is one of the best-suited for young women’s employment as it requires no heavy investment in equipment and favours self-employment and home-working.

Moreover, mobile units were deployed to make it easier for women to attend the training and to move around.

The evaluation shows that in 2019, 53% of graduates were women (out of 742 trainees). Among the 196 women graduates interviewed, only 45 had a salaried job. This is nonetheless an encouraging result given that, in Lebanon, the labour market participation rate for women is only 22% compared to a world average of 48%.

Four of the young women interviewed reported that they were satisfied with the efforts of the local partner to convince their families to let them follow a course and work. Some of them managed to set up their business at home and say that they feel more self-confident.

View the evaluation

 

«Evaluation has fostered the emergence of a broader community of practice and brought together the Agency’s gender focal points.»

read the interview

Hélin Yildiz Fellahoglu

Operations Gender Support Officer,
Social Link Unit,
AFD Operations Department

Focus on Morocco:
Women on Moroccan tramways

The ex-post evaluation of the tramways in Rabat-Salé and Casablanca brought to light unexpected gender benefits. At the project appraisal phase in 2008, AFD did not yet have a gender strategy, so the project did not include this dimension as such. Yet, half of tram passengers are women, although on average women are less mobile than men. They use the tramways more often as this transport mode is considered more reliable, safer and more comfortable than the alternatives – bus or private vehicles.

What the women particularly appreciate is having greater access to new neighbourhoods, a peaceful environment and the feeling of safety thanks to the presence of staff both in the stations and in the carriages, during the day and in the evening.

Some also prefer to take the “tramway roads” when walking, as this route is more enjoyable and less exposed to risks of aggression thanks to the urban facilities integrated into the project, especially the street lighting in the vicinity of the tramway.

View the evaluation

Evaluation

Progress and challenges
when integrating gender
into AFD projects

Launched in June 2019 to help improve AFD’s operational practices in the area of Gender and to combat gender inequality, the evaluation of the place given to gender in AFD projects (2014-2018) is on the point of completion.

This evaluation aims to report on the effects of rolling out the cross-cutting theme of gender equality in line with the cross-cutting intervention framework strategy, “Gender and Reduction of Gender Inequality” (Gender CIF) adopted early 2014. The strategy focuses both on the portfolio of AFD-funded gender projects across all of its intervention sectors, on the development of its operational strategies, and the effectiveness of the inhouse organisation deployed to implement the Gender CIF.

Purposefully participatory, the evaluation is being conducted by external consultants and is supported by a reference group with 30 members, for the most part the gender focal points from all of AFD’s operational structures. The co-building of various analytical tools, evaluative observations and recommendations, along with regular discussions on the work, have helped to consolidate the inhouse dialogue and provided input for AFD’s learning process on gender mainstreaming.

Concrete progress

The evaluation concludes that the implementation of the Gender CIF has certainly modified the attention paid to gender in AFD practices. The tools developed, the activities to build the teams’ capacities, and the advocacy role played by the organisation in charge of providing environmental and social support, have all helped to heighten an awareness of the importance of gender in projects. At the same time, the related knowledge and skills acquired by the operational teams at headquarters have progressed.

The evaluation points up the significant rise of gender mainstreaming in the portfolio of AFD-funded projects: 34% of the projects were classified as DAC 1 (secondary gender equality objective) et CAD 2 (principal gender equality objective) in 2014, whereas this stood at 49% in 2018.

The key objective of the Gender CIF (50% of gender projects in 2017) was almost on track, mainly thanks to financing for projects led by civil society organisations, who are often already gender-aware and play a crucial role in the take-up of gender, but also thanks to projects with a secondary gender objective (86% of gender projects over the period 2014–2018).

The challenges ahead

Implementing the gender strategy has required inhouse restructuring to ensure an efficient roll-out. Its management and coordination, the development of methodological tools and training, as well as steering and coordinating the network of gender focal points in the various operational entities, have required reinforcing governance and the initial level of institutional resources. Human resources, in particular, had to be scaled up given the needs for support.
Moreover, while gender is indeed one of AFD’s major strategic objectives, this issue – which has found its way onto the agenda of many international donors more recently than the climate issue – is gradually gaining momentum and needs to be appropriated at all levels of the Agency.

The evaluation also notes that the AFD agencies have found it very difficult in the field to engage a dialogue with partners during the project design phase. As a result, integrating gender is often initiated later on, during project appraisal. However, a qualitative analysis of the portfolio shows that, in order to optimise the achievement of objectives, the gender dimension needs to be effectively integrated right from the project design phase, together with a dialogue with partners during the entire project cycle.

Initial weaknesses and strategic transformations

Since 2019, AFD has been committed to being a “feminist” agency by aligning with France’s feminist diplomacy. This involves a transformative commitment to a radical integration of gender in development projects, partnerships, communication and in-house, in a fundamental way. In practical terms, this has been reflected in an internal restructuring, the creation of the Gender Unit with dedicated staff (6 members and consultants) in charge of implementing the strategic gender initiatives, structuring and deploying a support services and training offer, and promoting a human resources policy encompassing gender equality at work.

Find out more

In figures

118

project evaluations
analysed

+50%

of gender-responsive evaluations
in 2019

Photo credits
Integrating gender: ©Rodrig MBOCK
Vietnam: ©NguyenLanAnh / AFD
Rabat: ©Ambrosius Baanders

Acteurs, partenaires, bénéficiaires

La fabrique en commun
des évaluations

Rapport 2019-2020

Le Genre

Les premiers effets sur le terrain de l'intégration
du genre dans les projets de l'AFD mis en lumière
par les évaluations

Interviews

Elisabeth Hofmann

Présidente du Groupe de référence de l'évaluation genre

« Cette mise en débat du genre est très précieuse pour pouvoir aller plus loin dans l'institutionnalisation, bien au-delà de la formulation précise des recommandations. »

 
 

Comment l'évaluation peut-elle réduire les inégalités femmes-hommes ?

Dans le monde entier, les rapports sociaux entre les sexes sont inégalitaires et défavorables aux femmes. Les pays d'intervention de l'AFD n'échappent pas à cette réalité. Les femmes ne bénéficient pas toujours des projets financés par les bailleurs de fonds et il arrive même que ces projets accentuent involontairement ces inégalités !

Peut-on inverser cette tendance ?

Oui ! En intégrant l'approche genre dès la conception des projets et tout au long de leur mise en œuvre.

 
 

L'intégration du genre
dans les évaluations

un parcours riche d'enseignements

Compte tenu des inégalités de genre qui sous-tendent les relations femmes-hommes dans les pays d'intervention de l'AFD, les femmes bénéficient souvent moins que les hommes des opportunités offertes par les projets de développement. En 2014, l'AFD a pris l'engagement d'interroger de manière systématique les problématiques de genre des projets qu'elle finance, à travers le Cadre d'intervention stratégique « genre et réduction des inégalités femmes-hommes » (CIT Genre).

Le CIT Genre invitait en particulier à ce que tous les projets octroyés soient notés avec les marqueurs genre de l'OCDE (CAD 0, 1 et 2) ; et à ce que les projets financés par l'AFD soient évalués à l'aune de la dimension genre au même titre que n'importe quel autre objectif de développement, dans un but de redevabilité, d'apprentissage et de production de connaissances.

Le département Evaluation et apprentissage de l'AFD a réalisé une analyse approfondie des 118 évaluations de projets de l'AFD achevées entre 2015 et 2019. Elle visait à connaître l'étendue et comprendre les ressorts de l'intégration du genre dans les évaluations et à identifier des pratiques inspirantes et des blocages. Au-delà de ces objectifs, il s'agissait surtout de saisir quels peuvent être les effets positifs ou négatifs d'une prise en compte du genre dans le montage et/ou la mise en œuvre des projets.

Une progression remarquable de l'évaluation de la dimension genre des projets

L'étude révèle que la part des évaluations sensibles au genre et des évaluations qui s'intéressent aux effets des projets sur les bénéficiaires féminines a progressé de 14 % à 50 % entre 2015 et 2019.

De plus en plus de projets notés CAD 1 sont évalués (objectif genre transversal) mais surtout, de nombreuses évaluations tiennent compte du genre ou de la réduction des inégalités femmes-hommes alors même que ce n'était pas un objectif initial du projet (CAD 0). Ceci a permis de relever quelques bonnes pratiques ou au contraire des erreurs conceptuelles.

La précision de la commande évaluative, ainsi que la sensibilité au genre de l'équipe en charge de l'évaluation sont deux facteurs déterminants de la prise en compte du genre dans l'évaluation.

Les efforts de prise en compte des enjeux de genre dans les évaluations commencent à porter leurs fruits mais doivent être renforcés

Les évaluations questionnent effectivement davantage les impacts des projets sur les femmes ou sur les filles bénéficiaires mais approfondissent peu la question des rapports sociaux de genre. Les dynamiques de rapports de pouvoir femmes-hommes sont encore peu appréhendées, même si l'on constate une amélioration qualitative des évaluations sur ce point depuis 2019.

L'analyse révèle également que l'évaluation de la composante genre d'un projet est souvent freinée par l'absence de données disponibles désagrégées par sexe. Lorsque ces ressources n'existent pas, les évaluations doivent alors mobiliser davantage de ressources techniques et financières pour pallier ce manque (enquêtes quantitatives, qualitatives, focus groupes, etc.).

Focus Vietnam :
L'évaluation, espace de dialogue au service
de l'intégration du genre dans un projet

Au Vietnam, l'évaluation d'un projet d'appui à la formation professionnelle illustre comment l'intégration d'une approche genre au moment de l'évaluation a permis d'ouvrir un espace de dialogue sur le genre entre l'AFD et son partenaire, dans la perspective d'une continuité d'accompagnement de ce secteur. En effet, ce projet qui devait permettre de répondre aux besoins du pays en personnes qualifiées par la restructuration de plusieurs centres de formation professionnelle, avait été monté en 2009 sans approche genre, pas encore déployée à l'AFD.

La démarche proactive de l'évaluation à la fin du programme a permis de constater une faible présence d'étudiantes dans les cinq centres de formation. Les évaluateurs ont donc formulé des recommandations pour intégrer davantage de jeunes femmes.

Ce constat partagé avec le partenaire a permis d'initier un dialogue sur le besoin de féminisation de filières qui étaient totalement masculines au démarrage du projet, afin de proposer des améliorations pour renforcer les impacts au fil du temps. A l'école de Vinh Phuc par exemple, le nombre d'étudiantes dans les filières soutenues par le projet est passé de 142 au moment de la clôture du projet en 2019 à 325 deux ans plus tard. En 10 ans, la proportion de femmes est ainsi passée de 1 % à 34 %.

Ce dialogue a aussi permis de constater que de nombreuses femmes ont été impliquées et ont bénéficié du projet à différents niveaux (enseignantes, cadres, dirigeantes, au sein des centres de formation et des entreprises partenaires). Par exemple, l'un des cinq centres de formation accompagnés est dirigé par une femme qui a pu monter en compétences tout au long du projet et soutient aujourd'hui la féminisation des filières.

L'évaluation a permis tant à l'AFD qu'à ses partenaires vietnamiens de mûrir leurs stratégies genre respectives. L'AFD conduit aujourd'hui un dialogue systématique sur le genre avec ses partenaires dans tous ses projets de formation professionnelle, y compris par la promotion de la féminisation de filières traditionnellement masculines.

Consultez l'évaluation

voir la vidéo

 
 

Focus Liban :
Favoriser l'employabilité des femmes réfugiées

L'évaluation à mi-parcours du projet « Formation et employabilité des populations vulnérables impactées par la crise syrienne au Liban » offre un exemple de bonne pratique en matière d'amélioration des conditions de vie des femmes. Le projet cible l'accès à l'emploi des jeunes et des femmes, notamment réfugiés, à travers des formations courtes qualifiantes et des formations longues de niveau baccalauréat technique, offrant des débouchés sur le marché du travail local.

Une analyse du marché du travail a été réalisée dans le cadre du projet afin d'identifier les secteurs les plus propices à l'emploi des jeunes femmes et hommes réfugiés. Elle a conclu que la filière informatique est l'une des plus adaptées pour permettre l'employabilité des jeunes femmes car elle ne nécessite pas d'investissements lourds en équipements, favorise l'auto-emploi et l'exercice d'une activité à domicile.

Des unités mobiles ont par ailleurs été déployées pour permettre aux femmes de se rendre aux formations et pallier leurs difficultés en matière de mobilité.

L'évaluation montre qu'en 2019, 53 % des diplômés sont des femmes (sur 742 personnes ayant suivi les formations). Sur 196 femmes diplômées interrogées, 45 seulement bénéficient d'un emploi salarié. Cela constitue néanmoins un résultat encourageant si l'on considère que le taux de participation des femmes au marché du travail n'est que de 22 % au Liban, contre 48 % en moyenne mondiale.

Quatre jeunes femmes interrogées ont indiqué être satisfaites de l'effort fourni par le partenaire local pour convaincre leurs familles de les laisser réaliser un stage et travailler. Certaines sont parvenues à établir leur activité chez elles et expriment avoir une plus grande estime d'elles-mêmes.

Consultez l'évaluation

 

« L'évaluation a favorisé l'émergence d'une communauté de pratiques plus large et a fédéré en ce sens les référents genre de l'institution. »

lire l'interview

Hélin Yildiz Fellahoglu

Chargée de mission Appui genre aux opérations,
Cellule Lien Social,
Département des opérations à l'AFD

Focus Maroc :
Les femmes dans les tramways marocains

L'évaluation ex-post des tramways de Rabat-Salé et de Casablanca a révélé des bénéfices genre non anticipés. En phase d'instruction en 2008, l'AFD n'avait pas encore de stratégie genre et le projet n'intégrait pas cette dimension en tant que telle. Au final, la fréquentation des tramways est moitié femmes, moitié hommes alors que les marocaines sont moins mobiles en moyenne. Elles utilisent plus les tramways car ce mode de transport est appréhendé comme plus fiable, plus sûr et plus confortable que ses alternatives, bus ou véhicules individuels.

Les femmes apprécient particulièrement le gain d'accessibilité vers de nouveaux quartiers, l'espace apaisé et le sentiment de sécurité apporté par la présence de personnels en station et dans les rames, en journée et en soirée.

Certaines préfèrent également emprunter la « rue du tramway » pour leurs trajets à pied, cet axe étant plus agréable et moins exposé aux risques d'agression grâce aux aménagements urbains intégrés au projet, notamment l'éclairage aux abords du tramway.

Consultez l'évaluation

L'évaluation

Progrès et défis de
l'intégration du Genre dans les projets de l'AFD

Lancée en juin 2019 afin de contribuer à l'amélioration des pratiques opérationnelles de l'AFD dans le domaine du genre et de la lutte contre les inégalités femmes-hommes, l'évaluation de la prise en compte du genre dans les projets de l'AFD (2014-2018) est sur le point d'être finalisée.

Cette évaluation vise à rendre compte des effets du déploiement de la stratégie de transversalisation du genre « Genre et réduction des inégalités femmes-hommes » (CIT Genre) adoptée début 2014. Elle s'intéresse à la fois au portefeuille des projets genre financés par l'AFD dans tous ses secteurs d'intervention, à l'évolution de ses stratégies opérationnelles, ainsi qu'à l'efficacité de l'organisation interne déployée pour mettre en œuvre le CIT Genre.

Résolument participative, elle est menée par des consultant.es externes et s'appuie sur un groupe de référence de plus de 30 personnes associant notamment les référent.es genre de toutes les structures opérationnelles de l'AFD. La co-construction de différents outils d'analyse, des constats évaluatifs et des recommandations, ainsi que les discussions régulières sur les travaux ont permis de consolider le dialogue interne et de nourrir le processus d'apprentissage de l'AFD en matière d'intégration du genre.

Des progrès tangibles accomplis

L'évaluation conclut que la mise en œuvre du CIT Genre a effectivement modifié la prise en compte du genre dans les pratiques de l'AFD. Les outils développés, les actions de renforcement des capacités des équipes, ainsi que le rôle de plaidoyer joué par la structure en charge de l'appui environnement et social, ont permis d'améliorer la prise de conscience sur l'importance du genre dans les projets. Dans le même temps, les connaissances et compétences en la matière des équipes opérationnelles au siège ont progressé.

L'évaluation relève la progression notable de l'intégration du genre dans le portefeuille de projets financés par l'AFD : on passe de 34 % de projets notés CAD 1 (objectif genre secondaire) et CAD 2 (objectif genre principal) en 2014, à 49 % en 2018.

L'objectif phare du CIT (50 % de projets genre en 2017) a presque été atteint, grâce notamment au financement de projets portés par les organisations de la société civile, souvent déjà sensibilisées sur le genre et qui jouent un rôle crucial dans sa prise en compte, et grâce aux projets à objectif genre secondaire (86% des projets genre sur la période 2014-2018).

Des défis encore à relever

La mise en œuvre de la stratégie genre a nécessité des réorganisations internes pour pouvoir être déployée efficacement. Son pilotage et sa coordination, la conception des outils méthodologiques et des formations ainsi que l'animation du réseau des référent·es genre dans les différentes structures opérationnelles, ont nécessité un renforcement de sa gouvernance et des moyens initialement alloués. Les moyens humains ont notamment dû être renforcés au regard des besoins d'appui.
Par ailleurs, si le genre fait effectivement partie des grands objectifs stratégiques de l'AFD, cette problématique, portée plus récemment que celle du climat par nombre de bailleurs internationaux, monte progressivement en puissance et doit continuer à être appropriée à tous les niveaux de l'institution.

L'évaluation relève également que les agences de l'AFD ont rencontré sur le terrain de fortes difficultés pour engager un dialogue sur le genre avec les contreparties lors des phases de conception des projets. De ce fait, l'intégration du genre est souvent impulsée plus tard, lors de l'instruction des projets. Or, l'analyse qualitative du portefeuille montre que l'intégration effective de la dimension genre dès la phase de conception des projets, accompagnée d'un dialogue continu avec les contreparties tout au long du projet, est essentielle pour optimiser l'atteinte des objectifs.

Une prise en compte des faiblesses initiales et des transformations stratégiques

Depuis 2019, l'AFD, s'est engagée à être une agence « féministe » en s'inscrivant dans le cadre de la diplomatie féministe française. Il s'agit d'un engagement transformationnel pour intégrer de manière fondamentale le genre dans les projets de développement, les partenariats, la communication et en interne. Concrètement, cela s'est traduit par une réorganisation interne, la création du pôle genre avec des effectifs dédiés (6 personnes et des consultant.es) chargé de mettre en œuvre des initiatives stratégiques sur le genre, de structurer et déployer une offre de services d'appui et de formation, et par la promotion d'une politique de ressources humaines sur l'égalité professionnelle entre les femmes et les hommes.

en savoir plus

En chiffres

118

évaluations de projet
analysées

+50%

des évaluations sensibles
au genre en 2019

Crédits photos
Intégration du genre : ©Rodrig MBOCK
Vietnam : ©NguyenLanAnh / AFD
Rabat : ©Ambrosius Baanders